

# Table of Contents

Overview	3
Schengen Visa Countries	3
Schengen Visa Types	6
Uniform Schengen Visa	6
Who Needs a Schengen Visa?	7
Schengen Visa Statistics 2018	10
How to Apply for Schengen Visa	11
Reasons for Schengen visa rejection	19
Sample Letters and Guide	28
Cover letter	28
Invitation Letter	30
Sponsorship Letter	32
NOC Letter	34
Refusal Letter Appeal	36
Travel Itinerary	39
Checklist of Documents for All Applicants	42
Directories of Embassies/Consulates/Visa Processing Agencies	44
Top 10 Easy Schengen Countries to Apply	45
Countries where it is easiest to receive a Schengen visa	45
Resources, Tips and Tricks	46

### Overview

The Schengen Area is made up of 26 European states that do not impose border checks at their mutual borders and have a common visa policy. A Schengen Visa allows eligible individuals to enter and leave the Schengen Area freely from any of the participating Schengen Area countries. However, border checks still apply when travelling between Schengen and non-Schengen states.

With a Schengen Visa, you can visit multiple countries in Europe as many times as you would like. And if you were wondering where the name came from, Schengen is a town in Luxembourg where the treaty ('Schengen Agreement') leading to the creation of the Schengen Area and abolishment of internal border checks, was signed.

### Schengen Visa Countries

Austria Hungary Norway
Belgium Iceland Poland

Czech Republic Italy Portugal

Denmark Latvia Slovakia

Definition 2.5 value

Estonia Liechtenstein Slovenia

Finland Lithuania Spain

France Luxembourg Sweden

Germany Malta Switzerland

Greece Netherlands





### SCHENGEN VISA TYPES

### Uniform Schengen Visa

#### **Airport Transit Visa (A Category)**

You need this visa if you're traveling from one non-Schengen country to another via a connecting flight in a Schengen country. When you make the stopover, you cannot leave the airport and enter Schengen territory, such as to make a purchase or rest a few hours at a hotel prior to your flight.

Want more information on the airport transit visa? Click here for all the details.



#### **Transit Visa (B Category)**

You need this visa if you're traveling via car or coach from one non-Schengen country to another and passing through one or more Schengen states along the way. The Transit Visa is also required if you're making the journey via flight and you need to leave the airport and enter Schengen territory. For instance, you may have planned to continue your trip via train or to stay overnight at a hotel prior to catching your flight the next day.

#### **Short-stay Visa (C Category)**

When people talk of applying for a Schengen Visa, they are most likely referring to a short-term stay in Schengen countries. This visa allows you to visit one or more Schengen countries for up to 90 days within a 180-day period. The reasons for travel are usually tourism, business, visiting relatives, official visit, short-term study (less than three months), attending a sporting or cultural event, or medical reasons. Depending on the purpose of travel, three types of short-stay visas may be granted:

- Single-entry visa: You can enter the Schengen Area only once within the 180-day period for which your visa is valid (mentioned in the visa sticker affixed to your passport). Once you have left Schengen territory, you cannot re-enter on a single-entry visa.
- Double-entry visa: You can re-enter Schengen territory once after exiting it. So, you can visit the Schengen Area from an external border up to two times within the 180-day period over which your visa is valid.
- Multiple-entry visa: You can enter Schengen territory any number of times in the period for which your visa is valid. Typically, those with the need to travel frequently to the Schengen Area apply for 1-year, 3-year or 5-year multiple-entry visas

#### **Limited Territorial Validity Visa (LTV)**

This visa allows you to travel to and within only the Schengen country or countries that you plan to visit. You are not permitted to travel to any other Schengen country other than those mentioned at the time of applying for the visa. This type of visa is helpful for individuals who need to enter the Schengen Area for humanitarian reasons or for anyone who does not as yet possess valid travel documents but needs to travel to one or more Schengen countries for any kind of emergency situation.

#### **National Visa (D Category)**

If you will be studying, working or taking up permanent residence in the Schengen Area, then this is the visa to apply for. Depending on purpose, the national visa can be a single entry or multiple-entry visa.

## Who Needs a Schengen Visa?

itizens of certain countries need a Schengen Visa to travel to and stay in any Schengen Area member country:

Afghanistan	Cuba Democratic	Kyrgyzstan	Russia
Algeria	Republic Of Congo	Laos	Rwanda
Angola	Djibouti	Lebanon	Sao Tome And
Armenia	Dominican Republic Ecuador	Lesotho	Principe
Azerbaijan		Liberia	Saudi Arabia
Bahrain	Egypt	Libya	Senegal
Bangladesh	Equatorial Guinea	Madagascar	Sierra Leone
Belarus	Eritrea	Malawi	Somalia
Belize	Ethiopia	Maldives	South Africa
Benin	Fiji	Mali	South Sudan
Bhutan	Gabon	Mauritania	Sri Lanka
Bolivia	Gambia	Mongolia	Sudan
Botswana	Ghana	Morocco	Suriname
Burkina Faso	Guinea	Mozambique	Swaziland
Burma/Myanmar	Guinea-Bissau	Namibia	Syria
Burundi	Guyana	Nauru	Tajikistan
Cambodia	Haiti	Nepal	Tanzania
Cameroon	India	Niger	Thailand
Cape Verde	Indonesia	Nigeria	Togo
Central African	lran	North Korea	Tunisia Turkey
Republic	Iraq	0	Turkmenistan

Jamaica

Jordan

Kenya

Kuwait

Kazakhstan

Republic

Chad

China

Comoros

Cote D'ivoire

Congo

Oatar

Oman

Pakistan

Philippines

Papua New Guinea

Turkmenistan

Uganda

Vietnam

Uzbekistan

Zimbabwe

Yemen Zambia





#### **Exempt Countries:**

El Salvador

Exempt Countries.				
Albania	Georgia	New Zealand	Tonga	
Andorra	Grenada	Nicaragua	Trinidad and Tobago	
Antigua and Barbuda	Guatemala	Palau	Tuvalu	
Argentina	Holy See (Vatican City	Panama	Ukraine	
Australia	State)	Paraguay	United Arab Emirates	
Bahamas	Honduras	Peru	United States of	
Barbados	Israel	Samoa	America	
Bosnia and	Japan	San Marino	Uruguay	
Herzegovina	Kiribati	Seychelles	Vanuatu	
Brazil	Macedonia (FYROM)	Serbia	Venezuela	
Brunei	Malaysia	Singapore	British Overseas	
Darus salam Control of the Control o	Marshall Islands	Solomon islands	Nationals	
Canada	Mauritius	South Korea	Macao: Holders of Região Administrativa	
Chile	Mexico	St. Kitts and Nevis	Especial de Macau	
Colombia	Micronesia	St. Lucia	passport	
Costa Rica	Moldova	St. Vincent and the	Hong Kong: Holders of	
Dominica	Monaco	Grenadines	a Hong Kong Special Administrative Region	
-101				

Timor-Leste

passport.

Montenegro